October 5, 2011

  • When Your Child Disappoints You…

    I spent the past two hours on the phone with one of my photographers friends in Atlanta. We can spend hours talking about business… I love it.

    While on the phone, I told her to look up one of my newly found favorite photographers. She was oohing and aahing over the photos and I wanted to follow along too… so I grabbed my mom’s ipad (which was conveniently within arm’s reach on the kitchen counter) and opened up Safari.

    The browser opened to an article entitled “Forgiving Adult Children Who Disappoint You.” I gasped and told my friend what I had found, gave her a quick background on my relationship with my parents, then tried my best not to think about it. I changed the subject and we continued to talk about photography.

    Now we’re done talking on the phone and I can’t help but think about what I saw.

    It’s depressing.

Comments (13)

  • awwwww :*( sighs….. thats so sad :*( I’m sure my parents are reading that article too… *hugs* I know you’re super hard working and you’ll make them super proud and think otherwise~~* p.s. your mom seemed hella proud of your work when we were leaving~ (the big picture you took that they hang next to the entrance) ~* don’t think too much about it *hugs*

  • I wouldn’t think too much on it =]

  • Oh i disappoint my dad my time, I am sure. I am not a doctor, or a pharmacist. :)
    As long as they’re working on dealing with it, it’s all good. :)

    Asian parents are never satisfied. :)

  • Ohnoo :( It’s only natural to not want to disappoint parents (esp Asian ones!) so don’t think too much on it. I’m sure they’re proud of you too. :) I think Glee recently showed an episode about this! (the disappointing asian parents thing)

  • I don’t really know what your relationship is like with your parents, but if it’s really bothering you maybe talk to them about it? I’m sure they are very proud of you :)

  • awww. You’re killing my good mood.

  • OMG. You have so much talent and you have done so well for yourself. How can your parents not be proud of you?

    I know it might hurt to see that article, but as long as you believe in yourself is really all that matters. And you should – because I’ve seen your work and you are really good! :)

  • I’m sorry, Fern.
    But perhaps it probably wasn’t about you? How many siblings do you have? :P
    I’m just kidding. You shouldn’t think about it too much. But if it’s really eating you up, maybe you should talk about it to her. Communication can help relationships better, just my opinion.

  • @fLiPgUy31O - Yeah… sucks. lol

    @luvs_u - Thanks
    @wingtrung - Doing my best not to…
    @sincerely_winnie - I still need to watch that!

    @sf2slc - I hope they will come to terms with it soon. 

  • @LillyVRose - @kyalzinlay - I feel like it would probably do a lot of good to talk about it, but I just can’t do it. Thanks for your feedback though.

    @SlackerSociety - lol sorryyyy. 
    @misuterihomme - Thanks. It’s actually not about my career path; they are proud of my business. 

    @AznGuppy88 - *hug* 

  • maybe she came across the title and opened it for a laugh? maybe a friend sent it to her to look see? im proud just to be your xanga friend – try to not take it to heart<3<3 :) !

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *