April 10, 2013

  • A Tribute to Xanga

    Xanga truly changed my life. I can say that with absolute awe and certainty.

    I think I owe it to myself (and Xanga) to keep writing here. :)

    This weekend I attended youngvan‘s bachelorette party and it was a blast!!!* While being there and meeting all her friends from high school, college, work, etc., of course the subject of Xanga came up since that’s how we had met. The general response is one of surprise and disbelief, but at least meeting online friends is more common nowadays… and it’s nice that I wasn’t the ONLY online friend there haha.

    Aside from life-long friendships like Van’s, Xanga has been a major influence in my career and love life. When I first became passionate about photography (during my last year of college), it never really occurred to me that you could make a living out of it. At least, I didn’t think it was a plausible option for me. That’s when my friend Pablo subscribed me to a list of his favorite Xanga photographers and I was thus introduced to many of my photographer friends, including junshien and canon20d.

    Subscribing to Junshien’s Xanga opened up a world of possibilities for me. Reading about his life and job made me aspire to do the same, and long story short… he eventually became my mentor in wedding photography. And here I am today. :)

    As for my love life! I met gerkshinobi on Xanga about five years ago. It is still unknown how we found each other/who subscribed to who first, but it was definitely photography (go figure) that developed our friendship (haha, pun unintended). We started dating this fall and it has just been wonderful. He is everything I could ever ask for in a boyfriend – creative, adventurous, loving, understanding, patient, smart, hardworking, affectionate… seriously, the list goes on and on. And the man loves to TRAVEL!!!!! Major bonus points for that alone. So far we’ve been to Vancouver, Tokyo, and up and down the California coast together. I’m sure there will be many more trips to come – if I’m diligent about updating then you’ll find lots of food photos here.

    IMG_2246-6
    Here we are at DisneySea in Tokyo! :D

    So yeah. Thanks Xanga, I owe you one. <3

    *I brought along my camera as the unofficial photographer of the event and she posted pics… check them out on her page :)

Comments (23)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *