Month: October 2011

  • Work Today

    I’m shooting my first lesbian wedding today. I’m nervous. I’ve already made two mistakes…

    1. I sent them a contract that included the wording “bride and groom.” They sent it back and asked me to change the wording to “bride and bride.” Ahhhhh!!! I should have known… :(

    2. At our client meeting, I asked if they would want family shots after the ceremony. One of them replied, “My family isn’t going to be there.” *awkward turtle*

    Aside from worrying about how to pose them (will this pose be too masculine, etc), now I’m mostly just annoyed. The day-of wedding planner has been SPAMMING my inbox (as well as every other guest and vendor) with a countdown to the wedding day. Every email has the exact same information in it. Time is of the essence. Don’t be fashionably late. And if you don’t know what to get the couple, contribute to their honeymoon fund. I would understand if he sent this out once… maybe twice. But do all the guests and vendors REALLY need eight emails reminding us that the wedding is today??! Ugh.

    The planner also called me after sending the first email because he didn’t hear back from me. And called me again to ask what the plan for the day was. What?! I thought that was your job. I told him that I would be following the brides around the entire day and taking photos. They did not give me any specific instructions. He kept asking me what the timeline would be, what my plan was, etc… and I kept telling him that we did not discuss that. I will show up and take photos.

    Not to mention the horrible grammar in the subject of today’s email:

    “CAN YOU BELIEVE IT? THERE BIG DAY IS FINALLY HERE! EMAIL REMINDER!”

    Hahahaha. Any respect I had for you is gone. :P

  • When Your Child Disappoints You…

    I spent the past two hours on the phone with one of my photographers friends in Atlanta. We can spend hours talking about business… I love it.

    While on the phone, I told her to look up one of my newly found favorite photographers. She was oohing and aahing over the photos and I wanted to follow along too… so I grabbed my mom’s ipad (which was conveniently within arm’s reach on the kitchen counter) and opened up Safari.

    The browser opened to an article entitled “Forgiving Adult Children Who Disappoint You.” I gasped and told my friend what I had found, gave her a quick background on my relationship with my parents, then tried my best not to think about it. I changed the subject and we continued to talk about photography.

    Now we’re done talking on the phone and I can’t help but think about what I saw.

    It’s depressing.

  • Alone Time

    I’m sitting on the floor of a house where seven college guys reside. Wearing my brothers’ clothes. Alone. … o_O

    Background story: I’m spending the night at my brother’s place before shooting a wedding tomorrow. I have to admit I felt very out of place when I first showed up. His Bible Study had just ended and I walked into a house of thirty guys. Even if it was a co-ed group I would feel out of place because of my age. I awkwardly said hi to the large mass of boys and begged my brother to feed me because I was starving. He gave me a quick tour of the house and we left to get dinner.

    We returned after eating and within the next hour, all of his roommates left to go out and have fun. I keep forgetting it’s Friday. It feels like a Thursday. My brother stuck around for a while (half-watched Glee with me) before gingerly asking if it was okay for him to go hang out too. lol. I could care less. I don’t mind being alone and I wasn’t really expecting him to entertain me. We get along well, but we’re not close… so here I am chilling in his room on my laptop.

    Oh and I forgot to pack pajamas, so that’s why I’m borrowing his. Odd situation right?

    I want to keep watching Glee but I should be editing photos/memorizing poses for tomorrow/editing more photos. I promised a couple I would be done with their wedding by tonight.

    Maybe I should take a shower too, while everyone is gone.

    It’s been so long since I have updated consistently. :( There are so many things to write about… I wouldn’t even know where to start. I guess this counts as a start!