April 6, 2012

  • Jeremiah 29:11

    jeremiah blue

    Thank you Lord for giving me hope.

    - – - – - – - – - – - – - – -

    Yesterday was a rough day. I had waited anxiously for a week to hear back from a couple getting married in Cabo, Mexico. The wedding is an all-expenses paid trip for three days plus $1000 in exchange for full coverage of the rehearsal dinner and wedding. My meeting with the couple went really well and I clicked with the bride over J.Crew and cake pops. They said that I was their top choice and any other photographer would have to beat me to get the job. It was all very promising but not guaranteed. I secretly wished they would cancel all their other meetings and book me on the spot, but who can blame them for exploring their options.

    The day of their decision came and went without a word. Towards the end of the day I saw a new blog post shared on facebook by another photographer I know. I clicked it, read it, browsed the photos, then reached her travel schedule at the bottom. The first line read, “May 12-14th – Cabo, Mexico.”

    My initial reaction was “WHOA, what a coincidence!!! I’ll be there too!” … and then it dawned on me that she got the job instead of me.

    I took it hard. I really, really, really wanted that job. Add that on top of other circumstances and it just wasn’t the best timing for bad news. I couldn’t help feeling disappointed and bitter… couldn’t help wondering why they chose her. Was my personality not charming enough? Did they prefer her photography style over mine? What did she offer that I couldn’t?

    My friends and family assured me that there would be other opportunities in the future, but it was little comfort. Destination weddings are hard to come by. I have booked one in my career so far… one out of maybe 40-50 weddings. I know there will be more but there’s no way of telling how soon or how far away that will be from now.

    This morning I caught up with a high school friend who assured me that anyone who hires me is blessed. And somehow in the midst of our conversation I thought of a verse that was recently shared in my Bible study.

    “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord. “Plans to prosper you and not to harm you. Plans to give you hope and a future.” – Jeremiah 29:11

    The last sentence truly spoke to me. I repeated it over and over to myself this morning and felt a wave of peace come over me. He has plans to give me hope and a future.

    He has plans for you too. :)

Comments (9)

  • Beautiful picture with a beautiful verse…God bless you Fern and Happy Easter to you and your family!

  • you will be just fine :D  I used to get more upset for not getting the clients but now I’m just like..eh.. what will come will come :D  *be blessed*

  • Ultimately it’s not your wedding and it’s the couple’s prerogative who they choose to book. It’s nothing to take personally, although they could’ve let you know the reason as a courtesy. I hate it when people leave me hanging.

  • thats a great pix of u. self portrait?

    u will have many opportunity to travel. will He give us rock when we ask for bread?
    we may not understand His plan but be assure its the best for us.
    u bless others w ur talent in art.

  • I guess one thing you have to do in your profession is manage expectations. I’m sure you did nothing wrong and you were charming and made a good case for yourself, but it is a competitive business. Perhaps in the future, no matter how well things go in an initial meeting or interview, you should be prepared to accept the fact that you might not get it. Then, when you actually do land something great like that, you can then be totally stoked!

  • Awe, I am very sad to see this missed opportunity for you. Best of luck in procuring future jobs like that one. Personally, I think your photography is fantastic.

  • A very happy Easter to you and your family. Although it’s a shame you weren’t chosen for this job, other than a major disappointment, it’s not the end of the world, and you’ll be better at getting jobs like this later. Thank you for the verse though, I really needed a reminder whilst I flounder around and wonder where I’m going with my life.

  • all in time! I wish you had gotten it too, but hey, you’ll get more chances, young sapling!

  • I love this post!  Thank you for sharing…. :D

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *